What’s for dinner?


This week was the first week in months during which I had the time to prepare a nice dinner more than once – so I tried out new stuff and did some nice winter dishes to go with the rainy, stormy and cold weather outside. So here are a few snapshots from my kitchen!

 

Simple goulash
Just beef, onions and red wine. Yes, it’s that simple.

Baked apples
One of our favorites during winter and especially the holiday season.
Mix some marzipan with raisins, chopped almonds and – for the grown-ups 😉 – a few drops of rum. Fill the apples, put a little of the filling on top and sprinkle with vanilla sugar or brown sugar. Bake and serve with ice cream.
It’s usually served as a dessert – but it works just as well as a sweet dinner (plus, apples are good for you, right? 😉 ).

Coffee chili
I’ve made this a couple of time already and it’s always delicious (the recipe, in German, can be found here). The ingredients (coffee, dark beer, cocoa) create a really nice flavor and it’s simple to prepare – what more could you want? 

Banana bread
This one was a first for me, I got the recipe from here.
I was too curious how it would turn out, so it was still a little too hot when I took it out of the pan – and broke in two! However, it tastes just great!

About Kat

hopelessly creative, constantly curiuos
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s for dinner?

  1. Karen says:

    You have just listed some of my favorite things to eat this time of the year especially baked apples. They make the kitchen smell so good while baking.

  2. Charles says:

    I was actually going to make some chilli this week – I took out a packet of beans to remind me to soak/cook them and I’m feeling pretty tempted to give this one a try now – coffee and cocoa… yummy! Thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

