Christmas baking


Yesterday I spent almost all day in my parents’ kitchen together with my mom to do some traditional and (non-traditional) German Christmas baking.

After six hours, multiple filled baking trays, using the generations-old cookie press/meat grinder and several packets of flour, sugar and other delicious ingredients, we ended up with the following:

 

Spritzgebäck (butter cookies, formed with a cookie press)

The recipe is one of the handed down recipes from my great-grandmother (and probably her mother, and her mother…you get the picture). We also still form these in the old cast-iron cookie press (similar to a meat grinder) she used.
So besides these being absolutely delicious, they always add a little tweak of nostalgia to the baking process – as my grandma, my mother and me all remember making these around Christmas together with our mothers and grandmothers.
I’ll be happy to share the recipe in a following post.

Oatmeal cookies with cranberries and macadamia nuts

Although we make oatmeal cookies almost every year, this time we tried them with a twist and added dried cranberries and chopped macadamia nuts.

Swedish gingerbread

Ever since first making them last year, my whole family loves these. I got the recipe from my favorite cooking website here. If you need a translation, I’ll be happy to do it – these just cannot be ignored!

Vanillekipferl (vanilla flavored cookies)

Probably one of the most-baked cookies in Germany around Christmas. There are probably as many recipes as there are families who make these 😉

Mulled wine cookies

These were a first, but although they were slightly more work than the others they were so worth it. Also, they are definitely cookies for grown-ups since the filling is made of cooked red wine spiced with orange peel, cloves and cinnamon (most of the alcohol evaporates during the cooking) and the icing contains a few sips of rum. With the dough refined by adding orange peel, these are a delicious combination of flavors!
Also, as you can see, I’ll probably never win an award for decorating with icing 😀

About Kat

hopelessly creative, constantly curiuos
This entry was posted in baking, Handmade, kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas baking

  1. Karen says:

    Baking Christmas cookes with family is a lovely tradition and it sounds like you made some really good ones.

    • Kat says:

      Thank you 🙂
      It is, isn’t it? Especially in today’s busy times I love getting together like that – and it makes me appreciate living close to my parents.

Leave a Reply

