Crossing all over the world…


As I wrote in one of my recent posts, I joined bookcrossing a few months ago. Last week, my first bookring arrived (bookring = controlled release of a book by mail, from one bc-member to the other until it arrives back at the owner): Sophie’s World. Up to now (as I’ve read about 100 pages) I really like it, but I also can understand why I wasn’t really able to understand all of it when I tried to read it the first time: I was about 8 back then and, never having heard about Philosophy and everything, the topic was just too complex to really get into it 😉
Right now, it is just an enjoyable read and opportunity to broaden my knowledge about Philosophy 🙂

Other than that I put my first postcards for postcrossing into the mailbox on Monday 🙂 It’s another website I stumbled over while fighting boredom in the office. The simple but intriguing idea is to send and receive surprise postcards from people all over the world. So I wrote five postcards: one each to the USA, China, Russia, Poland and Portugal. And now I’m waiting for them to arrive and get registered by the people who receive them. I just hope they won’t get lost in the mail.

About Kat

hopelessly creative, constantly curiuos
This entry was posted in reading, the web and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crossing all over the world…

  1. Sara says:

    hi, I’m part of bookcrossing as well. I was just wondering how you go about doing swaps like you mentioned in your last entry? I am in the process of leaving books about various places, but I can’t seem to figure out how to do the controlled sharing —> “bookring = controlled release of a book by mail, from one bc-member to the other until it arrives back at the owner.” If you could let me know how you’re doing that I’d appreciate it!

    • freyja says:

      Hey Sara 🙂
      First of all, thanks for your comment – it’s actually the very first on this blog, so this makes me kinda proud 😀
      But anyway, to answer your question: I joined the bookrings using the forums on bookcrossing.com. depending on where you’re from you either use the international forums or go straight to the forum called “Bookrings, Bookrays, and Bookboxes” (for US-only and international Rings and Rays). There are plenty of Rings, Rays and Boxes that are looking for participants, so if you find one you’d like to join, just write a short post in the thread. You don’t have to post your address in the forum, that goes per PM straight to the person before in the Ring or Ray (they usually PM you once they’re finished and want to forward the book to you). For my first Ring, I stated in the forum that I was new to BC, and the initiator of the Ring wrote me a nice message explaining how it works.
      So you might just wanna have a look around there, it’s actually pretty easy once you found your way around 😉
      I hope this was helpful! If you have any more questions, just post here or write me a PM at BC (username: freyja903). 🙂

Leave a Reply

