Buffy rewatch


Since my usual TV shows (Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries, Grey’s etc) are on winter hiatus at the moment, I needed something to pass the time with and keep me entertained during while ironing and cooking.  So I decided to give a Buffy-rewatch a shot, starting with season one, episode 1 🙂

I have to say that I never really watched it completely, but I was a fan when it aired on German TV in the late nineties and early 2000’s. I remember driving my mom nuts when on Wednesday nights I just had to be home and in front of the TV during the shows last two or three season.
Still, I pretty much started watching it when I was about 12, with the first seasons airing on Saturdays in the afternoon.

Now I’m halfway through Season 3 and I’m really surprised about how clearly I remember some episodes and scenes whereas others are completely new to me. If I recall correctly I pretty much missed out as a regular watcher (muhaha, play on words much? *g*) during seasons 3-5, only catching some single eps and pretty much missing the “bigger picture” 😉

I still feel kinda weird when I have a clear memory of seeing e.g. the demon Balthazar (that fat, slimy guy in the tub) even though it’s been about 10 years since I last saw the episode.
It’s funny how a person’s memory works sometimes – what sense does it make keeping something like that in mind when I’m famous for forgetting easily memorable stuff like picking up something for my mom or writing an email?

Anyway, watching the whole thing reminds me of how I loved the show. It might easily be the show that started me out as a person who is easily addicted to stuff like TV shows, especially those dealing with supernatural/occult stuff (Charmed and, of course, SPN at the moment).
I remember the crush I had on Angel back then, even though I don’t think David Boreanaz is that attractive these days.
And it’s interesting how I see things and situations differently from how I did back then, how much aging and being ten years older changed my views and opinions – also, and especially, when it comes to understanding and/or sympathizing with certain characters.

About Kat

hopelessly creative, constantly curiuos
This entry was posted in TV addict. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

